David Hawkins’ ‘Levels of Consciousness’ Analysis System

Albion by William Blake
Albion by William Blake

David Hawkins’ ‘Levels of Consciousness’ Analysis System

(See David Hawkins Transcending the Levels of Consciousness, p. 373)

How we interpret what happens in our life, and in the lives of others, depends on our level of consciousness.

In Astrology too this obviously applies. An astrologer can be downright incompetent and untrained (I know one who set up as an astrologer in a very low level of consciousness Center only six months after beginning to read astrology books: She is now taking in ironing and the Center is hardly used) or the astrologer can be very competent and know many routines and rules in a very mechanistic legalistc way but can’t apply them to the human soul or heart.

I also teach the Druid Path and certainly in the Druid Path there are loads of rituals memorised by rote, not from the heart, and loads of group leaders into ego and control attacking others.

The same has sadly been true fo the Christian Churches: I was brought up a Catholic and my own childhood was made desolate by the fact that Saint Patrick converted Ireland! (www.druidforestschool.com)

And Level of Consciousnes can be calibrated.

I have been practising kundalini meditaiton with Steven Sadleir in California (www.selfawareness.com) and Helen Hamilton in Yorkshire, England (www.manifestmydreams.weebly.com) – both of these teach and transmit energy all over the world>

With these two enlightened teachers, the meditaiton is founded on the immense and powerful healing and consciousness-raising transmission of the energy of Connection to Source (What in Hinduism is called Shaktipat energy), and this also connects us to our True Self who exists eternally and is one with God.

Dr. Hawkins’ scale is from 1 to 1000, where 1000 represents Buddha or Christ Consciousness. The numbers on the scale represent logarithmic calibrations (measurable vibratory frequencies on a scale which increases to the tenth power) of the levels of human consciousness and its corresponding level of reality. The numbers themselves are arbitrary; the significance lies in the relationship of one number (or level) to another. He advocates the use of kinesiology to determine the level of consciousness of a person, theory or book.

In very brief summary, here are the consciousness levels outlined by David Hawkins:
20: Shame
30: Guilt
50: Apathy
75: Grief
100: Fear
125: Desire
150: Anger
175: Pride
200: Courage
250: Neutrality
310: Willingness
350: Acceptance
400: Reason
500: Love
540: Joy
600: Peace
700-1000: Enlightenment

Although Hawkins goes into great detail about the various levels of consciousness, he points out two turning points as most crucial to allow for major advancement:

The first turning point is at 200, the initial level of empowerment: Here, the willingness to stop blaming and accept responsibility for one’s own actions, feelings, and beliefs arises – as long as cause and responsibility are projected outside of oneself, one will remain in the powerless mode of victimhood. Two hundred, the level of Courage, represents a profound shift from lower level vibrations which are destructive and harmful to life-affirming, positive lifestyles; everything below 200 makes one go weak using kinesiology.
The level of Fear which promotes Anxiety is at 100 and the level of Anger which promotes Hate is at 150.
Currently, approximately 78% of the world’s population is below this significant 200 level. The destructive potential of this majority drags down all of mankind were it not for the counterbalancing effect of the 22% at the higher levels.
Some of the major crimes against humanity, such as the Holocaust, and the recent genocides in Bosnia and Rwanda could be said to have derived from Fear.

The second turning point is at the 500 level, which is reached by accepting love and non-judgemental forgiveness as a lifestyle, exercising unconditional kindness to all persons, things, and events without exception.” (Hawkins 2002, 238). The level of 500 is Love. Love in this context is a way of being in the world – not emotionality as most of us perceive it. According to Dr. Hawkins, the reason the level of Love is so difficult to achieve is because our ego is deeply rooted in the physical domain as opposed to the spiritual domain, which emerges at 500.

The 400s represent the level of reason, guided by the linear, mechanistic world of form (our modern society that includes advancements in medicine, science, government, etc.). Interestingly, the top echelon of intellectual genius, including Einstein, Freud, Newton, Aristotle, etc., all calibrated around 499.

The 500s represent a very difficult hurdle as only four percent of the world’s population calibrates in the 500s. This level denotes a shift from the linear, provable domain (classic physics or Newtonian physics) to the nonlinear, formless, spiritual realm.

The above two thresholds are primary challenges for many individuals today. Moving beyond them represents a significant barrier which can only be overcome through a significant shift in personality. After moving beyond these realms, progression into increasingly higher states is very natural and less challenging.

Michael Conneely specialises in astrology readings and courses which unusually combine western and Vedic Astrology. He offers natal chart interpretations, Predictions and relationship readings. For an expert reading of highest quality or the deeply learned and the most supportively taught western or Vedic astrology courses in the world, contact Michal at www.starwheelastrology.com, email michaelconneely@gmail.com or phone: 07799296821.